Poppies and Snowdrops

I will be conducting the Remembrance day service in Helsby village this year and have decided to focus on the Falklands conflict, as 2012 marks the 30th anniversary of that war. As is often the case the congregation will be made up of a wide variety of ages and experience. From the children with negligible understanding to adults who have served in a conflict, and relatives who have lost loved ones. As well as focusing on the Falklands I will look at both the poppy and the snowdrop to put across hope in what is often a desperate situation. The Marjorie Dobson poem that I’ve used above is a superb entry into resurrection out of despair.

I lift up my eyes to the hills, from where will my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. Psalm 121:1-2

The montage above is made from an image of a poppy from Andy Lindley and the snowdrops picture from Ian Downing, both via Twelvebaskets.

Leave a comment