Retreat – Hairless But Happy

The history of this tree is unknown. Yet it seems to have survived a fatal blow to its life through disease or lightning strike. Maybe spurred on by the surrounding field of bloom buds are showing on the branches. It has defied the odds and survives.

I embark on a three day retreat on Monday, courtesy of the Methodist church whom I work for. It consists of talks, prayers morning and night, interaction with other clergy, but most of all some space from responsibility and tasks. It is an utter privilege that I am offered each year stopping at Hawkstone Hall, an 18th century mansion set in beautiful surroundings in Shropshire.

I am not suggesting for a moment that I resemble the tree in the picture (despite being follicly challenged)! Yet each of us carry burdens that uncared for can become debilitating and restrict natural growth. Retreat is about grounding yourself in reality again, remembering what is important in ministry and life, and where your energy source comes from. I’ve already blogged about this in relation to Psalm 1. Like the tree we are remarkably resilient, yet touching truth and striving for holiness away from responsibility is to be recommended. Maybe I’ll come back with a full head of hair!

Image By Ian Downing Twelvebaskets.

2 thoughts on “Retreat – Hairless But Happy

  1. As soon as I saw this picture I flew back to my CofE primary school days of singing as loudly as possibly “And the trees of the fields will clap their hands!” and this one seems to be having a little bit of Salsa dancing clapping form going on.

    I really like this post, and I hope you keep surviving, more than that, living life to the fullest 🙂

Leave a Reply

