Energised For Mission

Cleaning the house, doing the homework, getting round to that paperwork. None of these tasks I suspect fill us with joy. However just occasionally we are energised to carry one out. It then almost becomes a joy to do, and nothing close to a chore. Next week I’m speaking to a neighbouring group of churches about mission, I suppose in the hope that I can energise them.

I’ve started my preparation for this talk in my head before reading around the topic. Mission is less about a strategy and more about the state of mind of any individual church. Some churches that I’ve been involved in look all blurry eyed when you analyse what they are doing. Their mission doesn’t come from the pages of a book, it is simply their life choice. I mentioned at the weekend in No Indigestion – Guaranteed! that the fruits of the Spirit is one of the best mission tools available to the church. Also a mission shaped church doesn’t know where the dividing line between church and community exists, it becomes very fuzzy. I may explore words such as outgoing, sacrificial, empathetic and authentic in the talk to unpack the topic further. Although for the purposes of the blog I need to explore these another day, however you can read about being authentic here.

If people have any wisdom that they would like to throw into the mix then please drop me a note.

Thanks to David Perry for the image.

One thought on “Energised For Mission

  1. “Also a mission shaped church doesn’t know where the dividing line between church and community exists, it becomes very fuzzy.” This is a profound reflection – and it includes the word “fuzzy” – Oh Yes!

    Extra thoughts – fluid, porous;
    issues around ‘membership’, ‘will they come on Sunday’ and ‘bums on pews’ – are a block to mission.

Leave a Reply

