I Promise I Promise I Promise

This Sunday I will be leading my first Covenant Service of the year. I suspect there will not be great throngs of people in the congregation as it is the 1st January and they will still be visiting family and friends! Yet meet we will, it seems fitting to me that at the start of the year we make our promises to God, our New Year’s resolutions. Covenant is written into the DNA of Methodism as it was started by Wesley, himself feeding off the writings of the Puritans that so influenced him.

To many people today it will seem an alien concept to publicly declare, “I am no longer my own, but yours”. However to put it into more current language it is saying that I’m putting God as number one priority in my life. It follows in the footsteps of Jesus’ commandments, “Love God, Love your neighbour as yourself”. The covenant prayer fleshes this out to explain the consequences to our own lives but essentially it is about putting God first.

If you are in the vicinity of Helsby England, I’ll see you all first thing Sunday morning!

Jeremiah 31:31,33 “The days are surely coming, says the Lord, when I will make a new covenant… I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people”

2 thoughts on “I Promise I Promise I Promise

  1. Pingback: I, I, I, Me, Me, Me! | revster's ramblings

Leave a Reply

