Strangest Christmas Present

I hope you all had a great day yesterday whatever you got up to. I spent the day with family once my morning service was complete.

Opening the presents on Christmas morning I was surprised to find in one parcel a solitary bottle of water. No explanation accompanied the gift and my mind started to race as to whether this was a mistake which happened to fall in with the other gifts. However a smile came over my face when the penny dropped. At a service three weeks ago I said to the congregation that they would get a shock on Christmas morning if they opened a gift and found a bottle of water inside! The point that I was making is highlighted in my blog entry Greed or Need which you can read here. In some parts of our diverse world a bottle of clean unpolluted water is prized over anything else. The bottle of water gives a fresh understanding on the many gifts that we will have received yesterday. You could almost say that a bottle of water is the life giving cleansing gift that our consumer society requires, but that thought can wait for another day.

What was your strangest gift?

One thought on “Strangest Christmas Present

Leave a Reply

